Staying Sane

As life wears on, our minds and bodies are pulled and twisted in different directions. Sometimes we’re happy, sometimes we’re sad. Sometimes things are going great, sometimes they couldn’t get any worse. It can really take a toll on you, without you even realizing it. Stress, depression, and fatigue all roll around and block you from all the good things you should be experiencing.

I think it’s important to try to find individual techniques and ways to stay sane through life’s ups and downs. They don’t have to be big things; just small activities you schedule here and there, to keep life light and bouncy.

Here are a few I’ve come up with, some of them my personal favourites:

1) Painting

Okay, I’m definitely not the next Picasso or anything, but I like it. I usually try to find easy things to draw, like words and symbols. You can get cheap but still usable water colours from the dollar store, canvases too. It’s really great because the more you do it, the more focused you become and at the end, you have a semi-beautiful painting to hang up on your wall.

2) Dancing

Once again, the same principle applies. You don’t have to be good at it, just do it for you. I like to do it alone because I get pretty crazy, but it is fun! It’s exercising without the pain and commitment (although exercising is a good way to let go of stress too!). Blast music and just let loose.

3) Reading

I like to read because I can concentrate on someone else for awhile. A nice cup of tea also goes really well with it. I think finding the right book is also key. Try to keep your desk filled with different books; some non-fiction about your favourite people and issues, and some of heart-wrenching, squeal-inducing fiction. A book for every mood!

4) Re-runs

Re-runs of your favourite TV shows and movies are seriously awesome. Today, there are some many ways to keep your favourite episodes handy. Pop some popcorn and catch up on your favourite characters and story lines.

These are just some things I like to do to keep myself occupied. Usually, things are a lot worse in your head than they are in reality. So take a deep breath, drink some tea, and enjoy the little things.

4 thoughts on “Staying Sane

  1. I can see you still write which is awesome :)! Wonderful and comprehendible towards others much like myself! Keep it up 😀 ❤

  2. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very useful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

