Road to the Classics: Part 1

20120622_4645As I’m nearing the end of my high school career, I have been updating various departments in my life. One of those departments is my reading pile. Gone are the days of vampires and dystopian futures, I’m now feeding my literary appetite through the likes of F. Scott Fitzgerald and Virginia Woolf. In order to become the best writer I can be, I need to study the classics and discover what it is that made them so worthy a read. So far, it’s been an eye-opening experience and has reminded me of how vast and unique literature is. I definitely recommend taking some time to re-read some of your favourite classic books, it gives you a whole new perspective!

I’m currently devouring J.D. Salinger’s The Catcher in The Rye and I have to say, I’m enjoying it more than I thought I would. Its mix of 40s slang and culture is so refreshing but most interestingly, I find Holden’s character really relatable. That is truly a feat, because I usually don’t resonate that well with male protagonists. Salinger did such a good job of mixing teen angst, loneliness and passion into something real, not cliché. It’s remarkable that even today, decades later, teenagers like me can still relate to Holden. In an age where everyone is too busy updating their various social networking accounts to think too hard about anything, it’s really refreshing to take a break and glimpse into a simpler time. I’m almost half way through, and will definitely post up a review as soon as I finish!

Image courtesy of: Mel Nguyen

3 thoughts on “Road to the Classics: Part 1

  1. The Catcher in the Rye is absolutely one of my favourite books because of Holden and his thoughts. He is a unique character and I really enjoyed getting to know him.

Leave a Reply

