My Favourite Books of the Year

I believe that well-written books are one of the true forms of magic we will ever encounter. Through expertly crafted words and characters, we not only see ourselves, but how much more we can be.

I’m making a move into reading more non-fiction but I’m looking to get back into novels. Below, I highlight the books I read this year that left the greatest impact on me.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

              Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear by Elizabeth Gilbert

Big Magic was one of the most anticipated books of the year and for good reason. Gilbert penned the infamous Eat, Pray, Love that had people searching for their true purpose. I admit I haven’t read EPL, but I picked up Gilbert’s newest release because as a writer myself, I find the art of creativity fascinating. Her spiritual approach to writing and art is truly inspiring, for artists and non-artists alike. You can check out my in-depth review here!

“In the end, it’s all just violets trying to come to light.” – Elizabeth Gilbert on inspiration

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

                                                 Ravensong by Lee Maracle

Maracle’s novel isn’t exactly new, as it was originally published in 1993. The narrative is set in 1954, and follows a young Indigenous girl named Stacey who is dealing with not only the nuances of growing up but the struggle of dealing with the effects of settler colonialism such as an epidemic. The way Maracle writes is very distinct but also beautiful. The novel oozes with stark realizations and beautiful depictions of nature that I found blunt and unique. At a time when the Liberal government is seeking to make important repairs to its relationship with the Aboriginal community in Canada, Ravensong is even more important than usual.

“‘Only the true kind can ever be free,’ she breathed quietly.” – Lee Maracle

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron

Cameron is the author of multiple books on art and writing, with experience as a screenwriter, playwright and much more. My manager recommended this to me and I’m so glad she did. The Artist’s Way is a workbook where every week, there are new activities to do and passages to read to help unleash your inner creator. I admit I followed it for most of the summer and did not get a chance to finish the whole course but it did not matter. The early portions of the book resonated with me the most, helping me to realize that your first try will never be gold, so it’s important to simply try. I’m happy to announce that I’ve started writing again after a long period of writer’s block. I recommend this to anyone needing to rekindle their creative fire!

“Creativity is the natural order of life. Life is energy: pure creative energy.” – Julia Cameron

There you have it! I hope to make time to read more in the new year. I’m currently reading Julia Cameron’s The Right to Write and looking to read Hemingway’s The Sun Also Rises. What were your favourite books of the year? Which ones are you looking forward to? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

